Graduate School

Graduate School


  • 1894 First Masters degree conferred

    The first masters degree was conferred. Frank Theophilus Meacham was awarded a Master of Science in Chemistry.


  • 1923 Graduate School established
  • 1923 Carl C. Taylor became Dean

    Taylor became the first dean of the Graduate School, serving until 1931.

  • 1926 First Ph.D. conferred

    The first Ph.D. is conferred; Jesse Mowry receives the degree in the field of Rural Sociology.


  • 1931 Graduate education under the Consolidated University

    The Graduate School at NC State was disbanded under the Consolidated University (a single administration overseeing NC State, UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Women's College in Greensboro). Graduate education at NC State was then considered a branch or division of the Graduate School at UNC-Chapel Hill. NC State had a local Committee on Graduate Instruction during this time.


  • 1950 Donald B. Anderson oversaw graduate programs

    Anderson oversaw graduate programs at NC State from 1950 to 1958. By the end of his tenure, his title had become dean.

  • DefaultDonald Benton Anderson portrait
  • 1952 Graduate Catalog

    For the first time NC State began publishing a separate catalog for its graduate studies. The first graduate catalog covered the academic year 1953-1954.

  • 1956 First female Ph.D. recipient

    Patricia Ann Sarvella become the first woman to receive a Ph.D. degree at State College (from the Department of Genetics).

  • 1959 Walter John Peterson, Dean

    Peterson became dean of the graduate program. He served until 1974.

  • DefaultWalter J. Peterson portrait


  • 1972 Independent Graduate School

    With the establishment of the UNC System this year, NC State again had an independent Graduate School.

  • 1975 Vivian Thomas Stannett, Dean

    Stannett became dean of the Graduate School, serving in the position until 1982.

  • DefaultVivian T. Stannett portrait


  • 1982 Jasper Memory, Dean

    Memory became dean of the Graduate School, serving until 1985.

  • DefaultJasper Memory portrait
  • 1986 First female Dean of the Graduate School

    Debra W. Stewart was appointed interim dean of the Graduate School, the first female dean and the first woman to serve as dean of the Graduate School. Her appointment became permanent in 1988. She served as dean until 2000.


  • 2000 Robert S. Sowell, Dean

    Sowell became dean of the Graduate School, serving until 2006.

  • 2006 Terri Lomax, Dean

    Lomax became dean of the Graduate School, serving in that position until 2008.

  • 2008 Duane K. Larick, Dean

    Larick first became interim dean of the Graduate School and then later the permanent dean.


  • 2014 Maureen Grasso, Dean

    Grasso became dean of the Graduate College.