Men's Track and Field

Men's Track and Field
Please note that some historical materials may contain harmful content and/or descriptions. Learn how we’re addressing it.


1898 First track team organized

The first track team was organized for intercollegiate competition but disbanded after the season.


1905 Track team formed again

Track reappeared as a sport after several years of being disbanded.


1917 Harry Hartsell hired as Athletics General Manager

Harry Hartsell was hired as General Manager of Athletics and oversaw coaching of the basketball, football, track, and baseball teams.

The Agromeck 1918The Agromeck 1918


1923 Track and cross-country teams granted varsity status
1927-1928 Jack McDowall named "Top Athlete"

McDowall played on the football, men's basketball, baseball, and track & field teams earning 11 varsity letters in the four sports. In 1927 and 1928, he won the Norris Athletic Trophy as NC State's top athlete. He held the school record for the longest punt return at 95 yards. He was considered NC State's top athlete of the first half-century of the college's athletics program. He was named to the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame in 1965, the ... More

Alumni News, Vol. 9 No. 5 and 6, February and March 1926Alumni News, Vol. 9 No. 5 and 6, February and March 1926


1953 Men's track and field won ACC titles
1954-1969 Paul Derr, men's track and field coach
Paul Derr portraitPaul Derr portrait
1954 Men's track and field won ACC titles
1957 African American runners on men's track team

Irwin Holmes and Manuel Crockett were members of the men's track team in 1957.


1966-1978 James B. Wescott, men's track and field head coach
Track and field coach Jim WescottTrack and field coach Jim Wescott


3/27/1971 Mile run record set

Jim Wilkins of NC State set a new time record of 4:01 in the individual mile run in Gainesville, Florida.

Jim Wilkins, N.C. State milerJim Wilkins, N.C. State miler
4/14/1972 New mile run record set

NC State student Jim Wilkins set another record in the individual mile run in a meet against Wake Forest and broke his own record from the year before.

1979 Paul H. Derr Track named

The University Track was named the Paul H. Derr Track for the long-time track and field coach.

Paul H. Derr Track North Carolina State UniversityPaul H. Derr Track North Carolina State University


1983-1988 Outdoor track and field team won ACC championships

The men's outdoor track and field team won five consecutive ACC championships from 1983 to 1988.

Men's Track-and-FieldMen's Track-and-Field
1984 Sprinter Auguston Young competed in Olympics

Sprinter Auguston Young competed for the Jamaican men’s track and field team in the 1984 Olympics at Los Angeles.

1985 Men's 4 x 100 meter relay team won NCAA championship
1986 Danny Peebles honored

Peebles was named ACC track and field "Most Outstanding Performer" in 1985 and 1986. He was a nine-time track and field All-American and nine-time ACC champion. He was one of the winners of the 1985 NCAA championship in the 4 x 100m relay. He was a member of track and field teams that won ACC Outdoor Championships (1985-1988) and Indoor Championships (1988). Peebles was also a member of the football team, and he played in the 1988 Peach Bowl ... More

N. C. State and University of Maryland football gameN. C. State and University of Maryland football game
1988 Men's track and field won ACC championship

The men's indoor track and field team won their first ACC championship in 1988.


1993 Tyrell Taitt won NCAA championship

Tyrell Taitt won the Wolfpack's first individual only NCAA championship in the outdoor triple jump event.

1996 Men's outdoor track and field team won ACC championship