Men's Soccer

Men's Soccer
Please note that some historical materials may contain harmful content and/or descriptions. Learn how we’re addressing it.


1947 Unofficial soccer team formed

International students formed an unofficial soccer team and played against other nearby colleges for two seasons. Professor Eric DeGroat served as advisor and coach.

12/1949 Soccer became varsity sport

The Athletics Council voted to make soccer a varsity sport.


1950-1955 Eric DeGroat, men's soccer head coach
Fall 1950 Varsity soccer began
1951 First men's soccer All-American selected

Kare Kragas was named the men's soccer team's first All-American player.

1956 John Kenfield, men's soccer head coach
1957-1960 Bill Leonhardt, men's soccer head coach


1961-1963 Nellie Cooper, men's soccer head coach
1962 First soccer player named ACC All-American

Benito Artinano became the first NC State ACC All-American in soccer.

Benito Artinano playing soccerBenito Artinano playing soccer
1964-1977 Max Rhodes, men's soccer head coach


1978-1985 Larry Gross, men's soccer head coach


1986-2010 George Tarantini, men's soccer head coach

George Tarantini of Argentina coached men's soccer and retired in November of 2010 as the winningest soccer coach in school history. He earned ACC "Coach of the Year" honors in 1992 and 1994 and was the NCAA "Regional Coach of the Year" in 1994. He directed the Wolfpack to nine NCAA Tournament appearances.

Soccer team group photoSoccer team group photo
1987 Tab Ramos named All-American

Soccer player Tab Ramos of Uruguay earned his third All-American honor in 1987. He was also named MVP of the 1987 soccer team. Ramos was later a three-time member of the US World Cup Team, and he was the US Soccer Federation "Athlete of the Year" in 1990. He played professionally for the NY/NJ Metro Stars from 1996 to 2002. He was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2005 and the NC State Hall of Fame in 2012.

Olympian and NC State soccer player Tab RamosOlympian and NC State soccer player Tab Ramos


1988-1991 Henry Gutierrez's career at NC State

Soccer midfielder and forward Henry Gutierrez was a three-time All-American in 1988, 1990, and 1991. He was a two-time ACC "Player of the Year" in 1990 and 1991. After college, Gutierrez became a member of the U.S. National Team and played Major League Soccer before embarking on a successful coaching career.

Agromeck 1991Agromeck 1991
1990 Men's soccer won ACC championship

The men's soccer team won its first ACC championship, and Henry Gutierrez scored the game-winning goal. The team also made an appearance in the Final Four of the NCAA Tournament in 1990.

1992 Scott Schweitzer named ACC's "Player of the Year"

A two-time All-American, Scott Schweitzer was named ACC's "Player of the Year" in 1992. Schweitzer was a part of the team that made a NCAA Final Four appearance in 1990.

1992 Dario Brose competed in Olympics

Dario Brose competed as a member of the 1992 U.S. national team in the Barcelona Olympics. At NC State, Brose was a two-time All-American and the three-time All-ACC soccer player.

1994 Men's soccer won first ACC regular season title


2002 ACC 50th anniversary soccer team selected

As part of the ACC celebrating its 50th anniversary, the conference named its 50 top players in each sport. Wolfpack soccer players included on the list were Dario Brose, Henry Gutierrez, Roy Lassiter, Pablo Mastroeni, Chris Ogu, Sam Okpodu, Tab Ramos, Scott Schweitzer and Chris Szanto.

2002-2006 Men's soccer player competed at World Cup

Pablo Mastroeni of Argentina was selected to compete for the U.S. National Team at the World Cup in 2002 and 2006. He played for the NC State men's soccer team from 1994 to 1997.

2005 Aaron King named All-American

Aaron King was named a second-team NCSAA/Adidas All-American. King was NC State's first All-American since Scott Schweitzer earned the title in 1992.


2011-2016 Kelly Findley, men's soccer head coach
2017- George Kiefer, men's soccer head coach