Women's Tennis

Women's Tennis
Please note that some historical materials may contain harmful content and/or descriptions. Learn how we’re addressing it.


1977 Ginger Oakman, women's tennis head coach
1978 Lauri Newman, women's tennis head coach
1979-1981 J.W. Isenhour, women's tennis head coach
John H. Isenhour portraitJohn H. Isenhour portrait


1982-1983 Sarah Harmer, women's tennis head coach
1984-1989 Crawford Henry, women's tennis head coach
N. C. State women's tennis team, 1988N. C. State women's tennis team, 1988


1990-1995 Kelly Key, women's tennis head coach
1996-1998 Jenny Garrity, women's tennis head coach
1998 Women's tennis team made first NCAA appearance
1999-2001 Kay Louthian, women's tennis head coach


2002-2014 Hans Olsen, women's tennis head coach

Hans Olsen coached the women's tennis team to five NCAA Tournament appearances in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2013.

2004 J.W. Isenhour tennis facility completed

The J.W. Isenhour Tennis Center was completed in 2004 in honor of previous men's and women's tennis head coach J.W. Isenhour, who coached from 1968-1981.

Tennis coach John W. IsenhourTennis coach John W. Isenhour
2006 Women's tennis won first NCAA Tournament game


2013-2014 Joelle Kissell record-breaking tennis career

Joelle Kissell held the school-record for most combined dual singles and dual doubles wins with 107 wins. Kissell was the first three-time All-Academic honoree in program history.

2015- Simon Earnshaw, women's tennis head coach

Simon Earnshaw coached the women's tennis team to four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances in 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019. Earnshaw was named ACC "Coach of the Year" in 2019.


2021 Women's tennis advanced to Final Four

The women's tennis team reached the Final Four in the NCAA Championship which was the deepest postseason run in program history