Please note that some historical materials may contain harmful content and/or descriptions. Learn how we’re addressing it.


1925 Wrestling became varsity sport

Wrestling became a varsity sport at NC State in the spring of 1925 as part of the Mit (boxing) and Mat (wrestling) Club.

1925-1926, 1933-1934 Red Hicks, head wrestling coach
1927-1931 Buck Drennan, head wrestling coach


1935-1936 Dave Morrah, head wrestling coach
1937 Joe Matthewson, head wrestling coach
1938-1943 Herman Hickman, head wrestling coach
Herman Hickman portraitHerman Hickman portrait
1939 Wrestling team won Southern Conference championship

The wrestling team won the Southern Conference championship and finished second to Appalachian State at the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) meet in Greensboro.


1947-1967 Al Crawford, head wrestling coach
Coach Al Crawford portraitCoach Al Crawford portrait


1968-1974 Jerry Daniels, head wrestling coach
Coach Jerry Daniels portraitCoach Jerry Daniels portrait


1975-2004 Bob Guzzo, head wrestling coach

In his tenure at NC State, Bob Guzzo was named ACC's "Coach of the Year" six times and coached 86 individual ACC champions, 24 All-Americans, and four national champions.

1976-2004 Wrestling won ACC Team Championships

Wrestling won ACC Team Championships in 1976, 1978, 1981, 1982, 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1996, 2001, 2002, 2004 with Bob Guzzo as head coach.

Atlantic Coast Conference wrestling champions N. C. State, 1976Atlantic Coast Conference wrestling champions N. C. State, 1976


1980 Matt Reiss won NCAA National Championship
1984 Tab Thacker won NCAA National Championship

All-American heavyweight wrestler Tab Thacker won the 1984 NCAA championship. During his time at NC State, he also won 4 ACC championships.

Tab Thacker, 1984 NCAA heavyweight champion from North Carolina State University, versus Stacey L. Davis of UNC-Chapel HillTab Thacker, 1984 NCAA heavyweight champion from North Carolina State University, versus Stacey L. Davis of UNC-Chapel Hill
Scott Turner won NCAA National championship

Scott Turner won the NCAA National championship and was named the NCAA’s "Most Outstanding Wrestler."

Wrestling matchWrestling match


1993 Sylvester Terkay won NCAA National Championship

Sylvester Terkay concluded his career at NC State by winning the 1993 NCAA heavyweight championship. Terkay was named ACC "Wrestler of the Year" in 1991, 1992, 1993.


2005-2012 Carter Jordan, head wrestling coach
2007 Wrestling won ACC Team Championship

The wrestling won the ACC Team Championship with Carter Jordan as head coach.

2009 Darrion Caldwell won NCAA National Championship

Darrion Caldwell became NC State's fifth NCAA national champion.


2013- Pat Popolizio, head wrestling coach
2014-2015 Nick Gwiazdowski won NCAA National Championship

Nick Gwiazdowski won back-to-back NCAA national champion wins.

2018 Michael Machhiavello won NCAA National Championship
2019-2020 Wrestling team went undefeated

Wrestling team went undefeated in the 2019-2020 regular season for the first time in school history.

2016-2022 Wrestling won ACC Team Championships

The wrestling won ACC Team Championships in 2016, 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 with Pat Popolizio as head coach.